Skip to content
July 11, 2010 / Magic Mama

Fertile Myrtle

We have been told that the success rate for one round of IVF w/ PGD is 30-40%. Not terribly encouraging. But I’m definitely a glass-half-full kinda girl.

Over the last few months, I have been trying to read up on what could potentially increase our chances–both in terms of fertility in general and in relation to IVF success rates. Here are some of the highlights: Take prenatal vitamins (yup), eat healthy fats (mmm… avocado and olive oil), cut back on alcohol (done), cut back on caffeine (working on it–down to a small half caf in the a.m.), try acupuncture (will do), reduce stress (I see some massages in my future), exercise–particularly walking and yoga (endurance-based or aggressive exercise is discouraged, ha ha, no worries there).

Overall, the most common recommendation seems to be “watch your weight.” Studies show a high (or low) BMI can negatively impact fertility. This is particularly in reference to the “obese” category, but may apply to the “overweight” category too. So here’s where I get to toot my own horn a bit! Over the last few months I’ve lost 16 pounds and dropped my BMI from the “overweight” range to just inside the “normal” range. Yay! Here’s the proof from Mayo Clinic’s BMI calculator:

BEFORE

AFTER

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. K / Jul 12 2010 2:32 pm

    Way to go! Will you be my coach? And BTW – a small half-caf in the morning HAS to be a minimum….you can’t get less than that unless you drop caffeine and a girl has to live, right? ;-)

    • Magic Mama / Jul 12 2010 6:49 pm

      In a way, it’s been a bit easier with this new motivation and condensed timeframe. But I also feel like I’ve hit a really good stride with healthy eating. I know you already know how to eat right, but maybe I can tell you about some of my new favorites!

Leave a Reply

