Skip to content
July 14, 2010 / Magic Mama

Beautiful Uterus

I had an appointment at my IVF clinic earlier today for an ultrasound and trial transfer. The ultrasound is for the doctor to check out my uterus and ovaries and make sure everything looks shipshape. I found out that I have a “beautiful” uterus. (Hey, if you got it, flaunt it.) My basic understanding of the trial transfer is that it helps the doctor determine the alignment and size of everything, which prevents any unexpected glitches during the actual transfer.

I was a little nervous for the appointment. My doctor told me it would be no big deal, but of course a couple days ago I did a Google search and came up with all kinds of opinions. True, some thought it was easy. But others found it quite painful. Since I’ve been on the more painful side for a couple similar procedures in the past, I worried that might reflect on this. But fortunately, I didn’t have any problems with it at all. ‘Twas “no big deal.” Just a little cramping throughout the rest of the day.

I did find out that in addition to my beautiful uterus, I naturally produce a lot of eggs. I guess I have 20+ follicles on each ovary. And that’s a lot. Which is especially good as a PGD patient because at least half of the retrieved eggs will be rejected due to my genetic disorder or inconclusive results.

But there’s a downside too. It puts me at a greater risk for Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome (OHSS), an over response to the fertility drugs. OHSS is apparently, “the most serious complication” of IVF. But because my doctor now knows to monitor it closely, I shouldn’t have anything to worry about as far as the symptoms progressing to a serious level. However, she did explain that if at any point they detect OHSS, it will mean discontinuing the cycle and starting over (meaning another 2-3 months before it’s time for the next transfer). Blargh. Here’s to healthy levels of stimulation!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Jul 15 2010 3:26 pm

    I’ve always known that you have a beautiful heart and now this!

Trackbacks

  1. Gulp, Gulp, Gulp « Abracadabra Baby
  2. T Minus 24 Hours « Abracadabra Baby

Leave a Reply

