Skip to content
July 18, 2010 / Magic Mama

Half Empty

Cleaned up the kitchen, got the materials ready, and woke hubby again at 8:45 a.m. But this time, I was confused. When I looked at the vial of Lupron that we used yesterday, it appeared to be half empty today. Why was only half the vial left after just one dosage? That can’t be right. Did they send us the wrong quantity? Double-checked the box. It’s a 14-day kit and includes one vial. Double-checked the vial. 2.8 mL. Did we use the wrong dosage? Double-checked the syringes. 20 units. So confused.

Called the IVF clinic and left a message for a nurse to call me back when they weren’t with patients, but wasn’t sure when that would be. Called my friend Nikki (RN) who said she would always be available for any questions. Explained the situation to Nikki–14-day kit, 2.8mL vial, 20 unit syringe, blah, blah, blah… She said the vial could just be deceiving–that there is really more left than it appears. She’s seen that before. But my brain just still couldn’t fathom how it could go from full to half in one dosage, and still have enough for the rest of the treatment. She suggested that we try pulling the next 20 units out and see what we have left. Duh. Seems like I could have thought of that.

The IVF clinic beeped in so I told Nikki I would call her back. Explained the situation to the nurse, and she said the vial was just deceiving. Hubby pulled 20 units out, and sure enough, there’s still a bunch left. Did the shot and it was just as easy as yesterday.

Called Nikki back and told her the IVF nurse said the same thing. I felt kind of silly about making it into a bigger deal than it needed to be, but I definitely didn’t want to be pumping myself full of 10 times the dosage or running out because there wasn’t enough and trying to track down more tomorrow after it had been difficult to get in the first place. Nikki also made me feel better by telling me that she had searched online after my first call and found people with the exact same confusion. Maybe something to be added to the instructions. “It’s going to look like you only have half left, but don’t worry dumb-dumb, it’s just deceiving.”

Leave a Reply

