Skip to content
August 1, 2010 / Magic Mama

13mm

I had the next blood test this morning, which left me with a large hematoma—ouch! But the ultrasound went well. The doctor measured the dark, round blobs on the screen and rattled a bunch of numbers off to the nurse. I had no idea what they meant, but the nurse sounded pretty stoked about it so I assumed it was good news. Turns out I have a good number of follicles developing and many are around 13mm. I will be ready for retrieval when they are measuring around 20mm, and the nurse said at this rate that could be as soon as my appointment on Tuesday. If not, I will probably have ultrasounds every day thereafter until the follicles are the right size. Once they are, we will do the HCG trigger injection, and the retrieval will take place 36 hours later.

I received a voicemail this afternoon with more results: “I’m calling to let you know that the doctor reviewed your chart today and the follicle number is beautiful. Your estradiol is climbing just a little bit fast, so we’re going to slow you down a bit here.” We will decrease the Follistim from 150 to 100 units until my next appointment. This is to avoid OHSS.

I’m excited that we’re so close! But nervous that we will be waiting for results soon. It’s “safe” here just wondering what the outcome will be. But I guess that won’t get us anywhere!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. DaddyAl / Aug 1 2010 11:35 pm

    I’m so excited for you and Matt. And I have to admit, for me too. I hope things continue to go smoothly – at least until Jr. High, when that’s probably too much to hope for…

    I love you both

    Al

  2. K / Aug 2 2010 2:19 am

    I don’t really get everything that is currently going on….but is it time for me to “Think Thick” yet? So excited that things are progressing well! : )

  3. Aunt Tami / Aug 2 2010 3:05 am

    So Excited! I hope everything continues to progress well! It is all getting so close now! :)

  4. Sara / Aug 2 2010 4:00 am

    Things are sounding good!!! HOW EXCITING! :) Keep up the good work.

  5. Magic Mama / Aug 2 2010 9:53 pm

    Thanks everyone! xoxo

Leave a Reply

