Skip to content
August 4, 2010 / Magic Mama

Ding, Ding, Ding

I started my day with a shot in bed. Not quite as good as breakfast in bed, but I’ll take it. It was actually quite romantic. Since I just needed one injection this morning, and I had a little time to sleep in before the ultrasound appointment, hubby gave me the last five units of Lupron before he headed out the door to work. And then I rolled over and went back to sleep.

And… the ultrasound today determined that we are ready for retrieval on Friday! The tech measured about eight mature follicles and five or six that will mature over the next couple days. So, we will do the HCG trigger injection tonight. This shot induces the final maturation of the eggs, loosens the eggs from the follicle walls, and allows for the timing of the egg retrieval (36 hours later).

We are scheduled to arrive at 6:30 a.m. on Friday, and the procedure will start at 7:30. I will be placed under anesthesia, and then the doctor will retrieve the eggs through a process called follicular aspiration. Basically, a hollow needle is placed into the ovary and the eggs are suctioned out of the mature follicles. It takes between 15 and 30 minutes. I will wait in recovery for another half hour or so, and then before we go home we will find out how many eggs they were able to retrieve. We’ll be hoping for a whole carton of them!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. K / Aug 5 2010 12:13 pm

    Yay! Your ovaries have been so busy! : ) I am so glad that you are so detailed with what is going on. Is it dumb that I didn’t even think about how they would retrieve the eggs and was slightly surprised that you have to be put under? Of course you would! Looking forward to hearing how it goes – I am hoping for a baker’s dozen!

  2. Amy / Aug 5 2010 6:46 pm

    Yay! How exciting! Can’t wait to hear an update. Hope all goes smoothly tomorrow! :)

  3. Mweep / Aug 5 2010 8:25 pm

    I will be sending so many happy thoughts to you tomorrow morning. Good luck Mweep, can’t wait to hear how everything goes :) xoxo

  4. Auntie Heidi / Aug 6 2010 7:21 am

    Beautiful People-
    It seems real now. I share in your prayers, hopes, dreams and anticipation of this miracle. I look forward to sharing in your joy, as well. You’ll be in my heart and on my mind. Love and hugs and butterfly kissses.

Leave a Reply

