Skip to content
August 11, 2010 / Magic Mama

Our Maybe Babies

Hubby surprised me by asking his mom to loan us her netbook while I am on bedrest. We only have a desktop computer, and he knew I might lose my mind without the internet. (I have a slight addiction.) So here I am!

Embryos

At our appointment this afternoon we found out that 11 of the 15 sampled embryos were affected with ALD—7 carrier females and 4 affected males. Thankfully we had so many to start with! After some explanations and discussions, we chose to transfer the strongest 2 of the 4 unaffected embryos. These were graded B2 and B3 on basically a scale of six. And here they are… #17 (girl) and #2 (boy). We will freeze the remaining 2; however, their quality may be more questionable.

TransferAnd then we were ready for transfer. The doctor ran a catheter into my uterus and placed the embryos. We were able to watch it all happening on the ultrasound screen. See the little white spot with the arrow pointing to it? That’s them. Hopefully hanging on tight.

Now… 48 hours of bedrest. And about 9 days of waiting. I will have my pregnancy blood test next Friday. So far that doesn’t actually sound so far away. But we’ll see if that changes in a few days!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Auntie Heidi / Aug 12 2010 6:20 am

    Hi, Guys!
    So happy that the transfer is complete. The babies are darling….no kidding! Cuter than heck. The only thing that’s missing in this photo are their words in a bubble overhead. Wonder what the heck they’re thinking! Glad you got Matt’s mom’s laptop. That will definitely help pass the time. Friday will come fast. We’ll all be anxiously awaiting the news. It’s all so amazing. Love ya!

  2. Sarah D / Aug 12 2010 2:27 pm

    What amazing pictures! You will be in my thoughts and prayers! Hope this next week goes by quickly. :)

  3. Amy / Aug 12 2010 4:30 pm

    Glad to hear all went well yesterday! Hope you’re feeling well – can’t wait to hear the new next Friday! Thinking about you – let me know if you need anything!

  4. Janet Solyntjes / Aug 14 2010 8:08 pm

    Not only are you a dedicated and informed “patient” in this process, your writing is a delight to read. Imagine someone like me, who has always had a dislike for science, looking forward to reading the details from the lab. (To be honest, I prefer to read the glimpses into your inner journey.)

    Good luck little babies-to-be. Hang on!

  5. Foxypopcorn / Aug 14 2010 9:09 pm

    Hang on tight little embies! I just think it is so incredible the things that medicine can tell us. So incredible! I’ll be holding you in my thoughts these next few weeks and hoping for sweet little boy girl twins :) (I dream of twins. Since we found out that we will be using assistance to start our family, I’ve pictured our future with twins. I know I might be crazy, but it seems like it would be just perfect.)

    Oh my gosh I LOVe my laptop. I’m not even on bedrest and I spend hours on the couch with my laptop :) Keep writing, Keep reading, keep hoping, and We’l be right here with you.

    xoxo -Foxy

Trackbacks

  1. One Little Monkey « Abracadabra Baby
  2. And Now We Wait « Abracadabra Baby

Leave a Reply

