Skip to content
December 11, 2010 / Magic Mama

On Track

We had our FET nurse consultation on November 19. Ordinarily, the consultation is scheduled about two weeks before the Lupron start date, but I had scheduled it a month out instead. That way–with deciding on the FET in mid-October, having the appointment with our nurse in mid-November, starting the Lupron injections in mid-December, and the transfer planned for mid-January–I could feel like I was regularly doing something with less waiting in between. Yes. The IVF world makes you a bit neurotic. And it makes planners into hyper-planners.

Anyway, we signed some paperwork (mostly acknowledging that we realize that this might not work and that we can’t blame them) and wrote a couple more checks and were on our merry way. We are on track to start injections on the 15th. Is it weird that I am looking forward to them? Well, it’s not the shots I guess, but rather the next step.

Other than that, it’s just an ultrasound and blood draw on the 24th, starting the baby aspirin and estrogen tablets on the 25th, another ultrasound and blood draw on January 7, some tetracycline and progesterone injections added in, and (if all goes as planned) the transfer on January 13.

If all goes as planned. Ugh. I feel pretty sure that my body will react to the medications and be ready to go. It’s the embryo thawing that’s nagging me a bit from time to time. The fear that we won’t even get to do the transfer. If I remember correctly, that has happened in about 12% of their cases. I’m not sure percentages mean much to me though. And then, assuming the embryos make it to the transfer, I must admit that my optimism is lacking. Probably because I’m feeling more guarded. And maybe also because the idea that these embryos weren’t picked for the first round and have been sitting in a freezer isn’t exactly a confidence-booster. It’s up and down though. Sometimes I feel like, hey, this could be it. And other times I feel like this is just another hurdle and delay before the next fresh cycle.

I want to be optimistic because I truly feel that the positive energy can make a difference. But I obviously don’t want to be setting myself for disappointment. Of course I’ve been here before. It’s tough to find the balance.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Roccie / Dec 13 2010 2:07 am

    Not a word, then my girl goes posting like a mad woman.

    Welcome back.

    I think we will be in the 2wMFw together. Nice one.

    • Magic Mama / Dec 15 2010 3:14 pm

      Awww… 2ww buddies. How cute are we?

  2. Mweep / Dec 15 2010 5:18 am

    OH! I didn’t realize you start (like, really physically start) everything tomorrow. SENDING YOU LOVE and CYBER HUGS and all that jazz. Love you!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Ready Freddy « Abracadabra Baby

Leave a Reply

