Skip to content
January 11, 2011 / Magic Mama

Ready Freddy

My ultrasound on Friday determined that my ovaries are quiet and my uterine lining is 8mm thick… in case you were wondering. And so, our transfer is confirmed for January 13, as planned. I’m excited that it’s finally only a few days away! But still feeling nervous about our two embryos surviving the thaw. Not exactly sure why that is bugging me so much. But I guess if there’s something to worry about, I’ll worry about it.

A handful of other things I learned this weekend:
1) Estrogen makes me hungry and nauseated at the same time (and also emotional—as proven by a rerun of Pam & Jim’s wedding on The Office)
2) Progesterone is a literal pain in the ass (this is more of a reminder)
3) When hubby is out of town, it is convenient to have a nurse mother-in-law who lives 5 minutes away and is willing to jab you in the butt
4) Starbucks doesn’t brew decaf in the morning until the first weirdo asks for it (and apparently no one else asks for it before 9am)

20 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rian / Jan 11 2011 3:59 am

    That episode of The Office gets me every time too. I will be thinking good baby thoughts for you guys on Thursday! :)

  2. K / Jan 11 2011 12:09 pm

    Thinking of you my friend!

    And, I am going to go ahead and say you are going to the wrong Starbucks….pretty sure the I worked at we brewed it right away. We usually ended up dumping it out before the morning was through, but we brewed it! You can get decaf espresso drinks though!

    • Magic Mama / Jan 13 2011 3:03 pm

      Yeah, I figured it might just be specific to MY Starbucks. They should be ashamed… not catering to the caffeine-deprived.

  3. Amy / Jan 11 2011 1:14 pm

    Thinking of you! Hope that all goes as planned this week and you receive good news!

  4. Nichole / Jan 11 2011 5:19 pm

    Sending postive vibes your way Sarah and Matt!!

  5. Aunt Tami / Jan 11 2011 8:28 pm

    Can’t wait! Fingers crossed that everything goes well!!

    Oh, and on the coffee note, you are going to the wrong coffee place, Caribou will always have decaf for you in the morning! :)

    • Magic Mama / Jan 13 2011 3:13 pm

      But Caribou is not a block from my house. Quite the dilemma ;)

  6. renee / Jan 11 2011 11:24 pm

    Holla! Congrats! And, that’s super funny that your mom-in-law gets to give you a pain in the butt :)

  7. maura / Jan 12 2011 1:07 am

    I am new to your blog and wanted to wish you luck. I am scheduled for my FET on 1/20 and have 3 frosties, but we are planning on only transferring 2 {right now} and I am sooo worried if they will survive. I guess the worry we feel now for those lil babies will never go away when they continue to grow and become babies in our arms huh??? Good luck!

    • Magic Mama / Jan 13 2011 3:06 pm

      Hi Maura! Thanks for saying hello. Good luck with your FET! From my vast experience (okay, just today) I think you should feel pretty good about it. I will be checking out your blog and thinking of you!

  8. LisaB / Jan 12 2011 1:07 am

    Thank you for wishing me luck with my IVF cycle! I’m wishing you lots of luck, too! Stick, babies, stick! Oh, and I LOVE Jim & Pam’s wedding. :-)

  9. Anna / Jan 12 2011 2:54 am

    Hi there, I’ve just found your blog – I’ve got a single FET tomorrow 13/1 too and I just wanted to say thanks for your blog which has just made me feel a little bit less alone in freaking out about whether my last little embie makes it thru the thaw, much less implants in my freaking uterus. Good luck to you my friend, here’s hoping it’s our turn this time huh? Will be thinking of you :)

    • Magic Mama / Jan 13 2011 3:10 pm

      Hi Anna! How did your thaw and transfer go? Looks like maybe you don’t have a blog? If you’d like to email me at abracadabrababyblog@gmail.com and give me an update, I’d love to hear. And all the way from New Zealand (my dream destination)! Thanks for the good luck and I’ll be thinking of you too.

  10. 1goodegg / Jan 12 2011 11:01 pm

    Good luck tomorrow! The worry never ends :)! Order a decaf Americano next time, it’s better anyway!

    • Magic Mama / Jan 13 2011 3:11 pm

      Thanks! And thanks for the coffee advice. Guess I’m not familiar enough with the decaf world!

  11. Roccie / Jan 13 2011 4:26 am

    I hear you got something on board?? Tell us all about it!

    Oh best, best, best wishes to you.

    We are here for your 2ww.

  12. Virginia / Jan 13 2011 7:41 pm

    Thanks, Sarah , for your great details. You are such an interesting writer. Your mom tells me the deed is done. I have been thinking about you and Matt today. Love, always, Grandma and Happy Birthday to Matt.

  13. Magic Mama / Jan 13 2011 3:00 pm

    Thanks SO much everyone!

Leave a Reply

