Skip to content
January 13, 2011 / Magic Mama

One Little Monkey

Mini egg/embryo recap:
24 eggs retrieved (8/6/10)
22 mature
18 fertilized
14 developing
4 unaffected by ALD
2 transferred/2 frozen
1 thawed and transferred (1/13/11)

At the thought of our countdown and our one remaining embryo, here’s what popped into my head: “… Four little monkeys jumping on the bed. One fell off and bumped his head. Mama called the doctor and the doctor said, “No more monkeys jumping on the bed,” etc., etc.

Anyway… I got a call yesterday afternoon telling us that our transfer would be at 10:30 this morning. I expressed my worry over the thawing embryos, and the embryologist said that they have a 50-60% thaw rate and that we should be pretty confident that we would have a transfer since we were starting with two. She said they would call early in the morning if otherwise. No call would mean good news.

So, I was a bit jumpy all morning. I talked to my parents yesterday and told them NOT to call! I didn’t want my phone ringing. And it didn’t. So we went on our way to the appointment. I was so relieved that we had at least one. Two would be great. But one would be a shot.

After we suited up in gowns and scrubs and hair nets and foot covers, the doctor came in and told us that one of our embryos (the B3) had survived the thaw. I would have been thrilled if it was two, but I really wasn’t disappointed that it was one.

The transfer went “perfectly”, other than the fact that my bladder wasn’t filled enough yet so they had to give me a catheter to run liquid into my bladder. Ouch. But the “perfectly” is more in reference to the placement in my uterus.

So now it’s time for a couple days of bed rest. Mostly watching movies and finishing up The Hunger Games for book club next week. And then the rest of the 2ww. Our pregnancy test will be on January 24th. C’mon monkey!

P.S. Happy 30th Birthday Hubby :)

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amy / Jan 13 2011 4:42 pm

    Yay! Thinking about you today and hoping for the best on January 24th!

  2. Mweep / Jan 13 2011 7:36 pm

    Have been sending you, Matt & tiny frozen embryo so many good thoughts today. I heart you mucho!

  3. K / Jan 14 2011 6:10 am

    Can a horrible week at work be enough excuse for the fact that I never sent the card I intended to and then I forgot to text you as well? I was thinking about you, I PROMISE! Let me know if you need anything my friend.

  4. Magic Mama / Jan 15 2011 1:22 pm

    Thanks all! xoxo

  5. Roccie / Jan 15 2011 8:07 pm

    Wow. Here we go.

    Best, best, best wishes!

Trackbacks

  1. Round 3 « Abracadabra Baby

Leave a Reply

