Skip to content
January 24, 2011 / Magic Mama

The BFN

I POAS-ed (peed on a stick) this morning so that hubby and I could get a good idea of what we were dealing with while we were at home together. And it was blank as can be. Negative. Our doctor just called with confirmation from the beta test. Zero.

I’m really glad that we did the at-home test (rather than just waiting for a phone call at work). Lessened the sting… a bit. And gave me a chance to cry on hubby’s shoulder rather than alone in my office. I’m doing okay. Obviously disappointed, but I think I kind of knew it was coming and was just holding out for the chance to be pleasantly surprised.

Our doctor asked if we would like to schedule an appointment to talk about the past cycle and about plans for the future. I told him we already know that we’re ready to give it another go. And he replied, “That’s my girl.” Love him.

I’m expecting a call from our nurse to discuss availability and scheduling for a fresh cycle of PGD and IVF. Please let it be soon. If it’s soon, I might be able to hold on to my sanity for a while longer.

Oh, one more thing, hubby would like to thank you for your support and cheer you up with his new favorite video. Check it out.

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Anna / Jan 24 2011 4:14 pm

    Oh boy, I’m so sorry for you and hubby and in a sad co-incidence, me and hubby too. BFN’s all round – just got mine 2 days ago and I’m the same, a big fat ZERO. You sound full of hope and positivity for your next round and I think you should pat yourself on the back and I can’t wait to read all about your BFP that will come. We are going to try again, but need to wait a few months to get this body in tiptop shape – I’m not prepared to try again until i’m fit and fabulous and a nutritional powerhouse ;) Good luck to you both – I will be thinking of you often and checking in! Thanks for your blog :) xo

    • Magic Mama / Jan 27 2011 2:27 pm

      Thanks Anna. I’m so sorry to hear of your BFN, too. Good luck getting in fighting shape and best wishes to you when you are ready!

  2. Auntie Tami / Jan 24 2011 4:14 pm

    I’m sorry Sarah! I don’t know what else to say other than my sympathies go out to you and Matt! I wish I could help in some way; I’m here if you need me for anything! Also hoping for a quick turnaround to start PGD and IVF again! Loved Matt’s video clip, was laughing out loud at my work desk. :) Love you!

  3. K / Jan 24 2011 5:25 pm

    You and Matt are in our thoughts. So sad that the news was not what we were hoping for, but I am glad you are keeping positive. If you need anything (including but not limited to Salty Caramel icecream), let me know.

    • Magic Mama / Jan 27 2011 2:28 pm

      I am quite sure that salted caramel ice cream can always brighten my day :)

  4. K / Jan 24 2011 5:27 pm

    P.S. I also laughed out loud at the video. I love penguins. And you!

  5. renee / Jan 24 2011 6:09 pm

    Love the video. Hate the news. Sending hugs home with Matt tonight. Love you!

  6. Melissa / Jan 24 2011 7:11 pm

    I totally thought the video would be “surprised hedgehog” or whatever he said on Saturday. Ha ha :)

    Anyway, love coming your way. xo

  7. tintedsky / Jan 25 2011 12:32 am

    I am so sorry to hear that. hugs! Hang in there, next round will be a bfp.

  8. 1goodegg / Jan 25 2011 2:23 pm

    Thinking of you. Those sticks suck! Take care of yourself :*).
    PS – have you tried acupuncture? If it’s an option, I would recommend it, can’t say it’s what made the difference for us, but something worked…

    • Magic Mama / Jan 27 2011 2:30 pm

      I did, but the lack of connection with my particular acupuncturist kind of turned me off. Perhaps I will consider it again in the future. Thanks!

  9. Nichole / Jan 26 2011 7:41 am

    Thinking of you guys and sending my love. BIG VIRTUAL HUG COMING RIGHT NOW. I’m so sorry to hear the news but proud of you for having a plan of attack for the next step. We love you guys!

  10. Erin / Jan 26 2011 4:28 pm

    Damn! So sorry it didn’t work this time. I’ll continue to throw good vibes your way for the next round.

  11. Magic Mama / Jan 27 2011 2:26 pm

    Thanks everyone. We really appreciate your kind words.

Trackbacks

  1. The Best Is Yet To Come « Abracadabra Baby

Leave a Reply

