Skip to content
March 19, 2011 / Magic Mama

Grab It and Jab It

Here we go! Fresh cycle #2.

With hubby out of town, I did my first dose of Lupron this morning — just pinched an inch of belly and stuck myself. Easy once you get used to the needles I guess.

Anyway, a reminder of how this goes: I will continue 20 units of Lupron each morning until my first ultrasound and estradiol blood test on March 28. At that point, they will likely lower my Lupron dosage to 5 units in the morning, and I will begin ovarian stimulation with Menopur and Follistim in the evenings. Starting on March 31, I will have frequent appointments to monitor follicle growth and estrogen levels. If my body reacts the same as our first cycle, we will do the HCG trigger on or around April 6. The retrieval will take place 36 hours later — potentially April 8. And the transfer 5 days after that — potentially April 13. Our first blood pregnancy test will be sometime around April 22 to 25.

I’m really happy it’s finally time to start. Even though I’ve been (too) busy (and stressed), it still feels like our FET was more than a couple months ago. Now I just need to try to breathe, worry less about the other obligations and deadlines surrounding me, and focus on this. This opportunity. So far I’m feeling very positive. This could be it!

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jenni / Mar 19 2011 8:19 pm

    Yay! for getting started. I hope that the Lupron treats you well, and everthing goes as smoothly as your first shot.

    • Magic Mama / Mar 19 2011 8:44 pm

      Thanks for saying hi Jenni! Best to you too with your upcoming cycle!

  2. Hubby / Mar 19 2011 8:33 pm

    Good Job Today!!!

    • Magic Mama / Mar 19 2011 8:45 pm

      Ha ha. Awww… thanks babe :)

      • Auntie Tami / Mar 21 2011 2:06 pm

        You two are too Cute!! :)

  3. K / Mar 20 2011 9:33 am

    Your exchange with your hubby made me smile. That’s all.

  4. lady pumpkin / Mar 20 2011 10:59 am

    I’m gonna go ahead and say this IS it! Feeling so very hopeful for you. Will be here with you every step of the way! xoxo

    • Magic Mama / Mar 25 2011 7:51 pm

      Gosh… I hope so :) Thanks for the encouragement!

  5. Virginia Solyntjes / Mar 21 2011 10:29 am

    i WOULD CALL THIS AN ADVENTURE FOR YOU IF IT WERE NOT SO PAINFUL AND NERVOUS-MAKING. vERY BRAVE OF YOU. AS FOR ME, i AM LEARNING A LOT OF DRUG NAMES AND MEDICAL TERMS.ESTRADIOL, FOR EXAMPLE. lOVE FROM GRANDMA

    • Magic Mama / Mar 25 2011 7:52 pm

      Yes, lots to learn :) Love you Grandma Ginny!

  6. roccie / Mar 21 2011 8:52 pm

    m/f mayor.

    Holy crap.

    Still laughing. Even after clicking over here and typing.

    Still lol.

  7. Mary / Mar 24 2011 8:43 pm

    I hope everything goes smoothly!

    ps: I’m your newest subscriber :)

Leave a Reply

