Skip to content
April 1, 2011 / Magic Mama

In Progress

Some technical babble: I had my first estradiol/ultrasound appointment on Monday after ten mornings of 20 units of Lupron. My uterine lining was thin (3a) and my ovaries were quiet (14 follicles on each side). Don’t worry, I don’t even know exactly what all of this means except for that it’s a good thing. They dropped my Lupron to 5 units and added 75 ml of Menopur in the morning and 100 units of Follistim in the evening (these are the stimulants). My estradiol blood test yesterday showed that my estrogen wasn’t quite as high as the doctor would like, so they upped my Follistim to 150 units until my estradiol/ultrasound appointment tomorrow. Lots of poking and prodding going on.

I’m feeling tired and moody. And my belly is bloated and bruised. But all in all, not too bad so far. I feel fortunate that the many possible side effects don’t seem to hit me quite as hard as they do for many people. And after all of the waiting, now that the cycle has started, it is moving right along. It seems a lot faster than the first time — maybe because I have a better grasp of what to expect. Our retrieval could be a week from today!

I have been doing what I can to feel physically ready. In the past six weeks I haven’t had a drop of alcohol or regular coffee, and I dropped the extra 5 pounds that I mentioned before (7 actually) through healthy eating and four studio classes a week. I am stocked up on Vitamin Water again — since I’m not sure whether this could have anything to do with not suffering from Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome (OHSS) last time, I figured I better stick with it.

Mentally? I could probably be doing a bit better. Don’t get me wrong. I am absolutely feeling excited/enthusiastic/optimistic about this cycle! But it would probably be good if I could put some other stressors aside (I am still in the midst of work deadlines for the magazine we produce and house projects for our move next month). I think at this point, a massage or two is the best I can do. And as much “me time” as possible.

Let’s do this.

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mamapants / Apr 1 2011 4:24 pm

    My darling daughter, you are a wonder. You’re under pressure on so many fronts at the moment and still you remain focused, careful and pleasant. You’re doing what you can to “prepare a place”, in more ways than one, and I’m so proud of you.

  2. Roccie / Apr 1 2011 5:07 pm

    Is that really your mom? If so, my excellent mother stock in you just jumped tenfold.

    Knock it out. One more wk. Remember your stress can NOT impact your success, only make the trip more enjoyable.

    • Magic Mama / Apr 2 2011 9:20 am

      Yes, that’s her! And thanks for the encouraging words.

  3. Mweep / Apr 1 2011 5:44 pm

    Sending so many good thoughts! Hope your ovaries don’t get too painful next week!! ;) xoxo

  4. Poppyseed and Muffin / Apr 2 2011 3:04 am

    good luck and keep the fluids up!! as much plain water as possible. and just try to enjoy the ‘process’ as well. find those lucky socks and wear them daily if you want to since that’s what you’ll see the most!

    • Magic Mama / Apr 2 2011 9:22 am

      Yes! Oodles of regular water too! Lucky socks… hmmm… good idea :)

  5. lady pumpkin / Apr 2 2011 6:18 am

    Sounds as though you’re nearly there–exciting!! Holding your hand along the way.

    • Magic Mama / Apr 2 2011 9:22 am

      Thanks much lady! What’s the latest with you?

  6. Shona / Apr 2 2011 11:58 am

    14 follicles on each side sound great. Good luck! I hope this cycle works for you.

Leave a Reply

