Skip to content
April 15, 2011 / Magic Mama

Ta-Da!

TWO unaffected, well-developed blastocysts (with the one on the right already hatching). Right now, they are getting cozy in my uterus.

Of the 9 fertilized eggs, 4 were ALD-free: the 2 strongest pictured here (a girl on the left and undetermined on the right), 1 that stopped developing, and 1 that had fallen a little behind which they will monitor over the next couple days before we decide about cryopreservation.

This afternoon, the nurse greeted us in the lobby as usual, but as soon as we turned the corner into the hallway she turned to us beaming, “It’s good news! You have two beautiful embryos. I didn’t want you to have to wait a second longer.” This was a nice surprise as the first time we didn’t find out anything until I was already on the transfer table. The doctor performing the transfer today was equally enthusiastic. All of the optimism and excitement and best wishes and hugs were definitely encouraging, but also nerve-wracking. There’s a lot of pressure on these little embies!

The transfer went perfectly — once hubby pointed out that I had forgotten to take off my underwear when I robed-up (that would have been a funny sight with my legs up in the stirrups) and once they gave me an extra five minutes to see if my bladder would finish filling up without a catheter, which it did — phew.

So, here I am on the couch. Feeling very lucky that I have the two embryos that I was hoping for. And trying to be the perfect amount of positive — whatever that might be.

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sara / Apr 15 2011 4:03 pm

    In tears by the end of your post. I’m so happy, relieved, and full of hope. LOVE!!!!!

  2. Roccie / Apr 15 2011 4:19 pm

    You know the embryos are the tough ones here. They THRIVE on that kind of pressure! Even undies could not prevent them from returning home where they belong.

    Congratulations on a successful transfer of 2 healthy embryos. Welcome to PUPO.

    Best wishes keeping it steady the next 2 wks!

  3. lady pumpkin / Apr 15 2011 4:29 pm

    Beautiful embies!! Wow. Congratulations!!! Funny–I too almost forgot to take off my underwear. Here we go on what I hope is the start of a great adventure!

  4. Alicia & Joe / Apr 15 2011 5:50 pm

    What a great start to the weekend. Snuggle in and let those little cuties make themselves at home. We are so hopeful that this is the last time you have to go through this and can’t wait to hear more good news.

  5. meghan / Apr 15 2011 7:38 pm

    :) big time!

  6. Grannie K / Apr 15 2011 8:32 pm

    I’ll be so proud to have you as the mother of my first grandbaby! Our son was blessed to find you and it’s nice to have another woman in the family so I can hear the details of what is going on. It is amazing to see these first pictures- grow baby grow!

  7. K / Apr 15 2011 9:16 pm

    Here’s hoping the mac n cheese and chocolate chip cookie helped! : )

  8. Jenni / Apr 15 2011 9:56 pm

    Beautiful Embies! Best of luck, and I hope that the next couple of weeks pass quickly. Stick embies stick!

  9. Shona / Apr 16 2011 2:17 am

    That’s fantastic news. My first successful IVF (after two failures) was from a hatching blastocyst. It is now my gorgeous son Dexter. It was my first ever blastocyst that was not affected with muscular dystophy.

    Good luck! Can’t wait to hear the result in two week.

    Shona

  10. Poppyseed and Muffin / Apr 17 2011 5:36 am

    yeah! congrats on the 2! just thinking ‘positive’ thoughts and cheerful wishes!

  11. renee / Apr 17 2011 7:23 pm

    so many fans. what more can I add? I’m praying for you. love you. love those little embies.

  12. Amy / Apr 18 2011 6:33 am

    Such great news! Thinking about you and hoping all is going well! Can’t wait to hear more updates! :) Let me know if you need anything!

  13. Nichole / Apr 18 2011 8:02 am

    Great news!!! Can’t wait to hear more great news in a few weeks. Love you guys!!!

  14. 1goodegg / Apr 20 2011 10:25 am

    Great news! Fingers crossed for you that this is the one, or two!! My advice, ignore those days when you think it didn’t work, the body is mysterious and anything is possible!! :*) ps – I love your quote!!

  15. JTL / Apr 23 2011 3:46 pm

    Just found your blog. My husband and I are in the midst of doing IVF w/ PGD as well – unfortunately this 1st round ended in a chemical. We are also using GG in Detroit! Best of luck to you and hoping you have great Beta’s in a couple of days. Thanks for sharing your story and bringing awareness.

Trackbacks

  1. And Now We Wait « Abracadabra Baby

Leave a Reply

