Skip to content
June 20, 2011 / Magic Mama

HPTs and HCGs and BFPs… Oh My!

I like my phlebotomist. I have tricky veins and she’s really good at her job. It also amuses me that she is in a sour mood at least every 3 out of 4 visits, and then on a random day she will go all smiley and chatty on me. It’s pretty suspenseful. Which mood will it be this time? This morning I was greeted with, “Today’s the big day!” A phrase and level of enthusiasm that she’s never used before. We chatted about my weekend in Chicago. And then she wished me good luck. Also a first. Does she know something I don’t? Or maybe… something that I do?

On Friday, I bought a pregnancy test in the drug store directly across from Millennium Park. I awkwardly stood in line with all of the other tourists buying their sodas and band-aids. I felt so out of place in that moment. On Saturday, I had the honor of having breakfast with Roccie (which she insisted on buying for good luck), and we talked like old friends even though we had never met before. It was lovely. On Sunday, I laid awake in the very early morning. Maybe for an hour. There was no clock in our hotel room and when I finally looked at my phone it was 4:22 a.m. Hmmm… our room number is 422. That’s a good sign. Really? Am I a 12-year-old? Somehow, I eventually drifted back to sleep.

I rolled over to hubby around 7:00 a.m. and whispered, “I don’t want to pee.” He said, “I know, me either.” Assuming he was half asleep and didn’t want to get out of bed to go to the bathroom and had forgotten about the test, I said, “No, but I don’t want to pee on a stick.” To which he replied, “I know, that’s what I mean.” But I did. I got up and I went in the bathroom and I peed in a plastic hotel cup because my heart was racing and my hands were shaking and I was afraid I would mess it up otherwise.

Three minutes later, back in bed with hubby, I said, “I don’t want to look.” He said, “I can look.” But I didn’t want him to. I didn’t want to see the disappointment on his face. I was afraid that I would capture that frame in my mind and view it over and over. So, I went back to the bathroom to look. And I saw this:

A pretty remarkable line. Hugs and kisses ensued.

Today’s beta (at 12dp5dt / 17dpo) is 456. Our doctor said this is a very solid number. Our nurse just called me back after our doctor passed on the news, and she was thrilled.

We are so happy. But trying to remain a bit cautious about the milestones ahead. I will have a second beta on Wednesday to monitor growing numbers (with possibly more to follow) and an ultrasound in 2 to 3 weeks to confirm that the pregnancy is viable. For now, just smiling because we have a chance. Hang on tight little boy.

19 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pam / Jun 20 2011 12:57 pm

    Oh! This is really good news… All smiles here. :) So happy for the two of you…keeping prayers going strong.

  2. Emily / Jun 20 2011 1:06 pm

    Oh my word!!! That is phenomenal!!! 456 is amazing. This is a perfect start! I’m keeping the number 912 in my mind for Wednesday. Way to go!!!!

  3. Mamapants / Jun 20 2011 1:14 pm

    AGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dancing since we spoke!!!

  4. Mweep / Jun 20 2011 1:21 pm

    Chills since your text this morning, and all smiles. HANG ON BUDDY!!!!!!! xoxo

  5. Amy / Jun 20 2011 1:24 pm

    YAY! i’m so excited for you! I’ve been thinking about you all morning and was so excited when I read the post!

  6. Alicia / Jun 20 2011 1:45 pm

    What an incredible Father’s Day gift for the soon-to-be father! :-) Fingers crossed that everything continues to progress according to plan. I have a REALLY good feeling about this little guy!!! YAHOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

  7. emilyeyes / Jun 20 2011 2:05 pm

    YAY! Such great news, I had my fingers crossed tightly! Many prayers that the good news continues! :)

  8. Lauren Joyce / Jun 20 2011 3:09 pm

    Woooohooooo!!! I will keep all fingers, toes and anything else I can crossed that the great news continues. I am very happy for the both of you.

  9. lady pumpkin / Jun 20 2011 4:06 pm

    Mamaaaaaa!!!! Aaaaahhhhh!!!! This is so terrific. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Can’t wait to hear more. And isn’t Roccie a gem? Hanging out with her in Chicago was a true gift. Enjoy this moment!!!

  10. Tami / Jun 20 2011 4:07 pm

    Yeah!!!!! Hang in there little buddy!!!! Hoping for high numbers on Wednesday!!! :) So Happy for you two!!

  11. Meghan / Jun 20 2011 4:45 pm

    Kept checking the blog all day…I am so happy right now!!

  12. sara / Jun 20 2011 6:35 pm

    Smiling with you!!!!!!!! LOVE!

  13. Grannie K / Jun 20 2011 6:41 pm

    We couldn’t be more happy for a new addition to our family…grandpuppies and grandkitties are nice, but a baby boy would make 2012 perfect! Can’t wait to share this gift of life with Mamapants and the other men in our lives!

  14. Bug Blogger / Jun 20 2011 9:27 pm

    YAY!!!!! Those are nice DARK lines!! Woot, woot! Stick, boy, stick! :D

  15. Roccie / Jun 21 2011 10:05 am

    Your clock matched the time you woke up?? Well of course you are pregnant! What a great story. I can feel the suspense of the morning. The shaking hands. The youlooknowaitiwilllookokyoulook. Nothing matches seeing such a line!

    This is the way it always goes. You were prepared for the next steps if you needed to be. Since you were ready, of course there is no need to execute the hard worked plans. Ha, if it were only that easy. Stuff all that planning in your back pocket and ride this all the way to the bouncing blue crib.

    Madness. The ultimate hail mary leaves us all dancing in the aisles. I have been talking about you non stop since you left. Rocco let out such a yahoo that the dog nearly jumped out of her skin. Our house celebrates with yours!

    Best, best wishes for your beta tomorrow. Aren’t you at an advantage with the PGD? Aren’t all the chromosomal abnormalities taken out of the picture, the usual cause for miscarriage? I feel like this is your major hurdle and you nailed it?

    Seriously, look at me. I NEVER worry, why should you?? I do not discount your concern, but I think you are really sitting pretty! Worry if you must – I get it, all my blathering aside.

    I am delighted to cheer you through the long months ahead. What a magnificent place to be, managing that busy belly. I am filled with pure joy over here. One Take Home Baby, coming up.

    Thank you for a wonderful morning getting to know you. Old friends are hard to find.

  16. 1goodegg / Jun 21 2011 6:40 pm

    Soooooo happy for you!! I believe!! :*)

  17. Nichole / Jun 23 2011 12:15 pm

    YAY!!!! SO EXCITED and happy for you guys. Hang on tight little man!!! :):):):)

  18. Sarah D / Jun 23 2011 12:29 pm

    I got goosebumps and my tears welled up reading your post… congratulations, what great news!!! :)

Trackbacks

  1. The Best Is Yet To Come « Abracadabra Baby

Leave a Reply

