Skip to content
August 8, 2011 / Magic Mama

Samplings

At our chorionic villus sampling (CVS) this morning, the doctor (twice) inserted a long needle through my abdomen and into the placenta in order to collect a sample of cells. These cells, which match the genetic makeup of the baby’s cells, will hopefully give us peace of mind—100% certainty (instead of 98-99%) that our baby is unaffected by ALD thanks to PGD. CVS also tests for chromosomal abnormalities. We will have the results in 2 to 3 weeks.

Today’s payoff for my discomfort: an ultrasound. We got to see our (literally) bouncing baby boy. And guess what? He looks like a baby now. I’m 11w3d and he measured at 12w1d with a strong heartbeat.

This was particularly comforting after the occasional spotting that I’ve been experiencing, the most of which occurred last night. By the ultrasound, they were also able to identify the source of the bleeding—a subchorionic hematoma (SCH). The doctor and ultrasound technician didn’t seem quite as concerned as Dr. Google, but it seems that the severity and risk is relative to the size of the clot. I’ll check in with my regular OB at my 12 week appointment later this week.

And now, without further ado…

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Molly / Aug 8 2011 3:40 pm

    Ta Da! ‘It’s a beaut Clark!’

  2. lady pumpkin / Aug 8 2011 3:51 pm

    It’s a real baby!!! Isn’t that amazing?? I’m glad the CVS is behind you and hope the results are as perfect as they ought to be. And yeesh, the spotting is a mindeff, isn’t it? Hate that nonsense. May the SCH disappear ASAP; you don’t need that to deal with. Hooray for your growing, thriving, bouncing little dude!

  3. Ally Ritchie / Aug 8 2011 4:53 pm

    Congrats!! :)

  4. roccie / Aug 8 2011 6:53 pm

    Mother of heaven, are you kidding me? You have an SCH? I know exactly the comforting tone the dr uses with you and I also know the 2×4 that Dr Google beats you over the head with. Let me be the SCH survival story that gives you comfort. It comes and hopefully goes w/out recurrence, but remember, if it comes back it leaves again. Ugh. I wish it was a no show.

    I hope the time for the test results flies by. I cant wait to count down the wks!

  5. Amy / Aug 8 2011 7:26 pm

    YAY! Congrats! So exciting that you got to see the baby boy today! We’re so excited for you and can’t wait for all of our boys to play together – it will be so much fun!

  6. Sara / Aug 8 2011 10:06 pm

    This picture warms my heart and makes me smile….like CRAZY!!!!!!!!!! So incredibly happy for you and Hubby! :)

  7. Mweep / Aug 9 2011 6:41 am

    Woooooo!! Love you!

  8. Grannie K / Aug 9 2011 7:21 pm

    He looks like Grandpa K reclining in his leather chair- can’t wait for the CVS results so we can all breathe easy and really enjoy the next 6 months of his development. I’m so proud of you and our son for all the strength you have shown through this difficult journey, I’ll continue my daily prayers for a healthy baby to join our family!

  9. renee / Aug 10 2011 7:42 pm

    What a beautiful baby boy!

  10. 1goodegg / Aug 13 2011 11:53 am

    I can’t believe you have a subchorionic hematoma too! That stinks! They should do a study about IVF and SCH! Rest!!! That’s my advice. My docs had me off work and resting until 28 weeks when they felt the baby was growing well and not threatened by the clot. I hated being on “bed rest”, but we work so hard for this little miracle, so looking back it was the best most boring time of my life!! Take care of yourself and baby bean!! :*)

  11. Shona / Aug 13 2011 1:47 pm

    Hope the results are good and how great that you got to see the baby! I’m about 26 weeks now so won’t be having any more scans, Doesn’t the time fly?

    Good luck with the rest of the pregnancy,

  12. Shona / Aug 13 2011 1:48 pm

    P.S. I just posted a link to the most ridiculous article ever about PGD on my blog. You should have a read,

  13. Terry O'Donnell / Aug 13 2011 3:17 pm

    I’m just plain thrilled for you – I’ve been a friend of your Mom’s since junior high school, and am tickled blue to see this handsome young man. Congrats~

  14. Sarah E. / Aug 17 2011 1:09 pm

    Hey there, good lookin’ baby boy! I am thrilled to see this photo. You are a mama already! I hope you feel wonderful. So excited for you. xo

  15. Aunt Tami / Aug 23 2011 9:47 pm

    He is so cute! Congrats! So excited for you two!

Leave a Reply

