Skip to content
December 13, 2011 / Magic Mama

How Are You Feeling?

I’m typing with numb fingers. For the last several weeks, my hands have been asleep most of the time. Especially at night when my knuckles also start to ache so much that I can’t grip the blankets or pillow as I turn from side to side. The latest development is a zingy electric shock when I move my wrist a certain way — like bumping a funny bone in my hand. I have pregnancy-induced carpal tunnel (caused by swelling and fluid retention increasing pressure and compressing the median nerve). Did you know that was a thing? News to me! I’m waiting on a pair of comfort night splints that should be arriving in the mail in the next few days. Hoping for some relief.

BUT other than that, I’m feeling great. [Knock on wood.] The sciatic nerve pain that was an issue in late October/early November has subsided. The I-think-I’m-going-to-die heartburn (something I had never experienced before pregnancy) seems to be under control for now. And the cold of all colds that I snarfled and hacked my way through while on vacation has finally cleared up. Also, I failed my glucose screening at my 28 week appointment, but passed the follow-up glucose tolerance test which means NO gestational diabetes… phew.

This Friday marks 30 weeks. Wowza. That’s starting to get close, huh? My appointments are every two weeks now. I’m measuring right on track, but baby boy still seems to be hanging out head up / feet down from what my doctor can feel — which makes sense with the rolling I feel high in my belly and the kicks I feel down in my stretchy waistband. There’s still time for him to shift, but my doctor said if he hasn’t turned around by 32 weeks, we’ll have an ultrasound to start taking a look at what we’re dealing with.

A final rambling paragraph before I head to bed: A few days ago, our friends lent us their fetal doppler monitor so hubby and I were able to listen to his little heart beat at home. Awww. Also, I received the first issue of Parents magazine that I subscribed to through one of those discount sites that are all the rage now. Parents… that’s soon to be… us? I read it and then left it in hubby’s bathroom for reading material. I’m still slowly, but surely, making progress on my to-do list. I’ll have the gift registry wrapped up this weekend — ready for my four showers in January. So much love! Oh, and I finally ordered furniture and picked a color so hubby can get painting. Plenty more practical things still left to do though, like classes and a hospital tour and choosing a pediatrician and more. In the midst of busyness at work and the upcoming holidays, time is flying!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tami / Dec 14 2011 4:10 am

    Wow 30 weeks already! Where did the time go? I can’t wait, so excited for you and Matt! Love the updates on baby! Brooke was heads up until 36 weeks and finally turned on her own, hopefully baby boy will do the same for you! :)

Trackbacks

  1. How Are You feeling? Order Sonoline B Fetal Prenatal Doppler

Leave a Reply

